Writing on Demand

Standard

I am having a hard time making my blog a priority.  I want to use it as I would “‘morning pages” but find myself jumping right into the pages of my  second Magda book or working on my non-fiction book about Sundance.  The past two mornings were spent working on a poem I’m writing for a friend who’s having a birthday.

I wonder what circumstances it will take to get me “blogging” on a regular basis.  It did motivate me to write when I read Leanne Dyck’s comments.  It meant that someone wanted to read my thoughts and felt moved to respond in writing.

This month there is no Mayne Liner to announce the gathering of the little open group we call the Mayne Writers, but I hope Leanne wants to join me in writing on Friday, January 30th, from 10:00 to 12:00.  I was happy to hear that Dawne might join us, and hope that Celia and anyone else who’s interested will meet at my table that morning to  share the work they’re doing.

Leanne and I were talking about the time we chose for meeting.  We used to meet at 7:00 pm, but in winter we found it too lonely, cold and dark a ride.  We like the two hour span, and like to be completed by noon so we can make other plans for the afternoon.  This does express my feelings, but I can’t vouch for the specific reasons Leanne has for liking this time, so I shouldn’t speak for her.

Carrying on from that decision, however, we started worrying about people who found the time inconvenient.  After trying to find ways to solve that problem, and being unable to, I suggested that there could always be another writers’ group, meeting at another time.  We know there are many, many writers on Mayne, and we know we can’t accommodate everyone’s needs.  So there it is.  If this time doesn’t suit you, find a time that does, advertise, and you’ll more than likely find people who will prefer that time.

Good luck and good writing.

I explained to Dawne that we divide the two hours equally among whoever is present.  This seems the fairest way to manage the time.  I also let her know that she could e-mail the piece she wants to work on or bring copies with her.  There’s no guarantee that we’ll have time to pre-read the submissions, but if we want to, e-mailing them makes it possible.

After I present the poem I’m working on to my friend, I just might publish it here and see if anyone can guess who I’m describing!

Thanks for your encouragement, Leanne.

About treewithroots

Magda and Brent solve crimes and unravel mysteries on Mayne island. These exciting mystery/adventure stories for 9 - 13 year-olds, Magda's Mayne Island Mystery, Mayne Island Aliens and Mayne Island Skeletons, are available at various bookstores in the Gulf Islands. Amber enjoys reading to school classes. Teachers, please contact her if you'd like her to read to your class.

One response »

  1. Thank you for writing, Amber.
    I look forward to meeting with you on January 30th.
    There are many reasons why I prefer to meet at 10 am. The main reason concerns my electric bike. Unlike a car night driving of an electric bike can be cold and dark. It is especially dark on Mayne Island as we have no street lights.
    I owe much to the Writers’ group. I know I wouldn’t have grown as much as I have as a writer without it. I wish it a long and healthy life.
    Please write more, Amber, I am reading.
    Leanne

Leave a Reply

