Managing Time

Standard

Island life is getting better all the time.  It’s almost as good as it was when I first moved here.  No it’s better, because now I know a few people, and some of them are friends.

There was that wonderful time of getting to know the island in the beginning.  I was awestruck by the beauty of the island and by the relaxed, small-town feel of it.  Beauty caught me by the throat whenever I experienced the silence of the mornings that lasted all day, the starry sky at night, and the picturesque houses set back in the forest on every country road. The relaxed feel came from never having to lock your door or car, being greeted with smiles and hellos wherever I went, and community gatherings where I saw the same great people over and over. My writing took off in this congenial setting and in no time I had a book to my credit.

I wanted to be part of this community so I found ways I could help.  By working with others to reach our common goals I met people and made some friends.

At this new stage, 3 1/2 years after moving here, I’m finding I want to spend more time writing, so I’ve had to sacrifice some of my other activities.  After the Christmas Craft Fair I stopped crocheting hats, which made good sense.  I took myself off the MIECS committees.  I’ll soon be leaving the executive.  Fortunately, the ESS work has not taken up much time lately.  As a result of putting in the time on my writing, I’m half way through my 5th draft of Mayne Island Aliens, and hope to complete it this week.  It should then be ready for an editor.

My next writing push will be to complete the Sundance book, a non-fiction book about educational philosophy and one experiment I was part of in the 1970s and 1980s.  In March I’ll be heading to North Van to interview someone who started a school similar to Sundance, Windsor House.  I’ll be looking for class pictures to illustrate the book.

Then I can work on the picture book I’m writing.  It’s a long poem which requires a certain style of illustration.  I’d like to find just the right illustrator but haven’t seen anyone whose work is exactly right.

After these three books are finished, I’ll have a third Magda book to write.  I already know something about it.  It’s just a matter of time.

About treewithroots

Magda and Brent solve crimes and unravel mysteries on Mayne island. These exciting mystery/adventure stories for 9 - 13 year-olds, Magda's Mayne Island Mystery, Mayne Island Aliens and Mayne Island Skeletons, are available at various bookstores in the Gulf Islands. Amber enjoys reading to school classes. Teachers, please contact her if you'd like her to read to your class.

Leave a Reply

