Changing focus

Standard

Now that the book is finished, again, I’m taking a couple of days to do some different writing.  I have the AGM at the beginning of February and have almost finished the first draft of the year-end report; this will involve many re-writes, of course.

The whole project has meant so much to me, and though it’s time to focus on different priorities in my life, it’s still hard to let it go.  I want my report to reflect the important place our work has in my heart but, more importantly, the important place it holds in the community.

I was delighted that two of our newest members attended the meeting yesterday. But at the same time, I was disappointed because I had hoped for a bigger turnout.  I want to be able to trust that the work will continue, shared by many dedicated people.

I hope more members will attend the AGM on February 2.  We have a new time for it;  the one member who had concerns about her children’s naps no longer has that worry, so the meeting will take place at a time that’s more convenient for parents with children in the school: one o’clock instead of three.  This does present a child care problem, however, since the older children will be in class, not available to do child care.  Parents will have to find other arrangements or bring their little children along.

Although the meeting was sidetracked many times by issues that belonged in committee meetings, we managed to complete it in under two hours.  I had been aiming at one hour.

I have the Sundance book to complete now. After the writing is completed I’ll have to find class pictures and whole school pictures for each year, get everyone’s consent sheets filed so that I can quote them, and make decisions about format.  Because of the horizontal format of the photographs, it seems sensible to go with that.  Perhaps two columns to a page, semi-gloss paper, Times New Roman 12 pt font.  Very simple and classsic.

Part of self-publishing is doing the jobs a publisher would do, of course, and that includes finding an illustrator.  When the writing of Sylvie O’Southerly is completed I’ll begin again the search for the perfect illustrator. I have the look of the pages in my mind but, not being an artist, I can’t put them on paper.  They will definitely be watercolour paintings, with lots of movement.  The font will be Century Gothic, probably, so children can read it without having to deal with the funny a’s.

Back to that year-end report now, as soon as I make my morning coffee.  I was happy to hear on the news recently that coffee is good for us!  In moderation, of course.  So along with guilt-free red wine drinking and guilt-free Belgian chocolate-eating, I can feel guilt-free drinking my coffee.  So I guess I don’t have a single vice left!  Uh, okay, we won’t go there.

The sky is lightening and I think about the Inauguration of Obama today.  I know I’ll watch some of it on TV.  Probably with a cup of coffee in hand.

About treewithroots

Magda and Brent solve crimes and unravel mysteries on Mayne island. These exciting mystery/adventure stories for 9 - 13 year-olds, Magda's Mayne Island Mystery, Mayne Island Aliens and Mayne Island Skeletons, are available at various bookstores in the Gulf Islands. Amber enjoys reading to school classes. Teachers, please contact her if you'd like her to read to your class.

Leave a Reply

