Laughing at Myself

Standard

I’m so full of contradictions it’s funny.

I don’t want to hang on to the work I was doing, but the unfinished stuff comes back to bite my behind and I have to deal with it.

On the other hand, I loved some of it, and learned so much, but I have to let it go before it makes me completely crazy.

I choose my projects because they seem so fine and good, and then they take me over.  I struggle to rid myself of them, and they cling like seaweed.

Where is the lesson in this?  No matter what I do, whether I get too involved or not involved enough, I do it so that I can make some kind of meaning out of being alive.

Next project: learn  how to DO a thing without BECOMING the thing that I do.  Separation, boundaries, I and Thou.  Remember.  Detach.

About treewithroots

Magda and Brent solve crimes and unravel mysteries on Mayne island. These exciting mystery/adventure stories for 9 - 13 year-olds, Magda's Mayne Island Mystery, Mayne Island Aliens and Mayne Island Skeletons, are available at various bookstores in the Gulf Islands. Amber enjoys reading to school classes. Teachers, please contact her if you'd like her to read to your class.

One response »

Leave a Reply

