One Thing at a Time

Standard

If left to my natural way of doing things, I’ll work randomly.  I’ll do a scratch or two of writing, a handful of crocheting, a splash of cleaning up, and a few minutes of calling friends.  Then I find a whole new set of things to do, so by the end of the day I’ve been very busy, but haven’t completed anything.

Last fall, I decided I had to choose my priorities and opted to focus on writing my second Magda book.  I had to give up some of my volunteer work and some of my “paid” work, but I did complete my book.

This week, faced with the fact that my book finished, I have taken the time I would spend writing and have gone back to other things and other ways, like doing a spadeful of gardening, an armload of unpacking, and a few steps of walking.

I like it.

About treewithroots

Magda and Brent solve crimes and unravel mysteries on Mayne island. These exciting mystery/adventure stories for 9 - 13 year-olds, Magda's Mayne Island Mystery, Mayne Island Aliens and Mayne Island Skeletons, are available at various bookstores in the Gulf Islands. Amber enjoys reading to school classes. Teachers, please contact her if you'd like her to read to your class.

One response »

  1. Well, here I am at the end of another book. The third one (Mayne Island Skeletons) is in the bookstore, and unlike two years ago, I started my fourth book (Mayne Island Mayneacs) before the publication of the third. I still try to do a handful of gardening, an armload of laundry and a cupful of cooking, but my focus is on my craft. I write. See my website http://www.treewithroots.ca/ and read my blogs. Better yet, read my books.

Leave a Reply

