Crush hats, poppies, strawberries and my new book

Standard

I’ll have a new item for sale at the Farmers’ Market this week-end.  I’ve been working on a crocheted 100% cotton sun hat that you can fold up and tuck in a bag or purse and then bring out when you need it.  Because of the way it’s made, it won’t look wrinkled.  I’m really excited about this new design.  I’ve seen something like it in magazines, but I made mine first! They call it a “crush hat,” which I think is a great name for it.

This will be our “May Day”  Market, celebrating both May 1st and May 24th at the same time, on May 16th.

I’ll be selling my new Magda book, Mayne Island Aliens.  So many people have asked me when it’s coming out.  I know that it will be a popular item.

I’ll also have some plants for sale that I’ve been growing in my garden over the four years we’ve lived on Mayne Island.  My strawberries originated at Rest-Q, and my poppies are from a collection given to my by my mother several years ago.  Both have done very well in our soil.  We collect all our kitchen scraps to make compost, and also use  laama manure to build our soil.  It has really improved from the forest floor soil we started out with.

I can’t wait till Saturday!

About treewithroots

Magda and Brent solve crimes and unravel mysteries on Mayne island. These exciting mystery/adventure stories for 9 - 13 year-olds, Magda's Mayne Island Mystery, Mayne Island Aliens and Mayne Island Skeletons, are available at various bookstores in the Gulf Islands. Amber enjoys reading to school classes. Teachers, please contact her if you'd like her to read to your class.

One response »

Leave a Reply

