Work and Play

Standard

I am reminded of how it felt the first couple of weeks in July, after the report cards were finished, my classroom was cleaned up, and all the kids had gone. I’d go home, clean the shelves and drawers, wash the walls and windows, keep on working hard and fast till I recognized that I could relax.  Then I’d have a month of being on holidays and at home  with my family, after which I’d head back to school and gear up again for another year of teaching.

Since I finished my book, I’ve been cleaning out boxes from the attic, stepping up the subbing, gardening, doing more community work.  Pretty soon I’ll accept that I can slow down for a while, I’m pretty sure.  It’s just that working so hard for the past while, I picked up speed and now I can’t brake.   I’ve got to decelerate slowly.

I think one of these days I’ll pack a picnic, a blanket and a book and spend a few hours on the beach.  Yes!

About treewithroots

Magda and Brent solve crimes and unravel mysteries on Mayne island. These exciting mystery/adventure stories for 9 - 13 year-olds, Magda's Mayne Island Mystery, Mayne Island Aliens and Mayne Island Skeletons, are available at various bookstores in the Gulf Islands. Amber enjoys reading to school classes. Teachers, please contact her if you'd like her to read to your class.

One response »

  1. You know, when I was in middle school, they asked me to teach at this one little private school when I got older. They knew I knew a great deal about computers, and that I was very good, but I could never cope with the responsibility. I’d end up going mad if the children I had to deal with were like the ones I grew up with. I ended up appreciating school more because of that, have always been happy with all the help I get, and was happy to give back in the end.

    I don’t think there’s a problem with working hard! We did a lot of community service at school and it’s always nice to get a thank you letter in the mail. Plus, the projects they gave us to do, sorting, gardening, and painting, that was always great fun. I know this teacher that was my teacher in Kindergarden and I like the fact that she’s subbing now because I can see her every now and then when I go and get my brother from school or go to some event they have.

    I’m pretty sure that you have a lot of memories from doing it though, right? They say it’s not the most flattering pay, but it’s more for the love of it. Although, there are people who do it for a few years just for the money, but I don’t think it’s good for the kids. I just remember that I got more out of the teachers that were interested in the subject than the ones who told you to answer the questions on page 183. One of the reasons why I know a lot about art and science is because of the visual aids and explanations my teachers gave. You know that if you can remember the different art techniques and paintings that some of the artists did, and you learnt that in first and second grade, you probably had a good teacher!

    My dad worked at the school I went to during middle and high school (it was private), but when I was younger, I used to remember coming over during the summer and helping the teachers put their classrooms together for August. I spent a lot of my time there, learned how to read and write before getting into Early Childhood, ended up getting glasses at age four because I was already too exposed to computers! I’ve always had a love of learning though, and now that I’m twenty, it’s like I want to go to college and universities for the rest of my life. I like going to the library, bookstores, and just sitting down and expanding my knowledge. I think the teachers saw that in me, otherwise I wouldn’t have been inducted under Scholarship in the National Honor Society. My dad inspires me though because he works so hard to keep the school intact, drives the kids to places (and he does the community service too, I think about 1,000 hours total?!), and wants to keep learning so he can help more.

    If you love what you’re doing, keep at it! I find that I’m enjoying life more because of it. I could be renting an apartment, working at a 9-5 job, but instead I’m continuing school and working on a couple of internet projects. My parents aren’t exactly happy with some of my choices, but I’m a happier person because I’m constantly busy and never really get bored with my life.

Leave a Reply

