A Thing of Beauty

Standard

John Keats wrote:

A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases; it will never
Pass into nothingness; but still will keep
A bower quiet for us, and a sleep
Full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing.

I love to read Keats’ poetry, even though his  optimism is so very different from my jaded pessimism.  Perhaps because he died before his 26th birthday, he had no time to lose his  youthful outlook.  I, on the other hand, have lived far longer than I expected to. Many of the beautiful things I once held and cherished are gone.

I can think of nothing that lasts forever.  Mutability is the quality of all of life.  I wish it were not so, since there are many things I would love to have last forever; for example, the purity of our air and water, beautiful hearted-people, everyone I love. My world view has grown old and tired.

However, Keats’ poetry is a thing of beauty, and I will keep on reading it.  I hope it lasts forever.

4 responses »

    • I read about Sabi, and find that it combines the ideas of both impermanence and beauty. You write, “Sabi implies an understanding that beauty and life are fleeting.” Thank you for passing along this lovely concept.

    • Glad you like browsing this blog. I’m not as regular a blogger as I’d like to be. I spend most mornings writing my Magda books. Have you read them? I am trying to decide whether or not to start a blog in the voice of Magda, someone about 12 years old, living in the Gulf Islands. I wonder if this would be a helpful thing to do or whether it would end by being a waste of my writing time.
      My two reasons for possibly writing as Magda are keep my character’s voice appropriate to her age, and maintain communication with my readership while they wait for the next book.
      What do you think?

Leave a Reply

