Impermanence and Family

Standard

Although I wrote about impermanence and my “pessimism” yesterday, today I’m finding it easier to embrace what Terrill Welch creativepottager@wordprss.com introduced, which is the concept of Sabi.

Sabi or impermanence loses its sting when I’m with my daughter and granddaughters as I am this morning.  I’m reminded that although I will not continue as I am, and although things around me change, there is an essence which continues, in a look, a turn of phrase, a quality of mind, that are carried on by our descendants.

Life is good.

What do you think?

About treewithroots

Magda and Brent solve crimes and unravel mysteries on Mayne island. These exciting mystery/adventure stories for 9 - 13 year-olds, Magda's Mayne Island Mystery, Mayne Island Aliens and Mayne Island Skeletons, are available at various bookstores in the Gulf Islands. Amber enjoys reading to school classes. Teachers, please contact her if you'd like her to read to your class.

5 responses »

  1. Ahh…you’ve visited Terrill’s site! I love her sprout questions. So you have granddaughters? What a gift…now I will ponder that essence which continues through our descendents. (And I think life is very good…) Congratulations on publishing your children’s books!

    • Kathy, Thanks for your kind words. I find writing books for kids in the 9 to 12 age group both exciting and satisfying.
      I keep trying to describe the process to other writers and readers, and the closest I’ve been able to come is to say that sometimes I feel as though I am the kids in the story as I write, and sometimes that they are talking through me. At the same time, I’m maintaining the adult role of writer, moving the plot forward.

    • Thanks, Leanne. I sometimes catch glimpses of my mother in my words and actions. She lives on in me, as I;m sure I will in my grandkids. But I have also caught glimpses of my favourite authors in my own writing. Does this ever happen to anyone else?

  2. Thank you for the mention Amber. In fact, several mentions of late – thank you:) I miss being around children. They have a tendency to help us remember that continuity even when they are not our own children. A child’s giggle and delight always goes right through me.

Leave a Reply

