The Craft

Standard

‘The Craft’ can refer to many things.  Wicca and Freemasonry are both known as ‘The Craft.’  The craft I refer to here is the craft of writing.

I’ve always been a writer, or at least as long as I was capable of putting pen to paper and constructing meaningful sentences.  I discovered one summer when all my friends were on holidays or away at camp that the only way to dig myself out of the pit of boredom into which I had fallen was to write.  It was then, in my pre-teens, that I began writing my first novel.

I have written several novels since then.  My first few attempts were never completed.  The next few were.  I’ve self-published three and am working on a fourth.

What I’ve learned over the years is that just like any craft, the practitioner has to build the best article (let’s call it a table) they can and go on to learn better techniques so that the next table is even better.  It is a waste to build the same table over and over.  Learn from your mistakes, learn new techniques, and build a better table the next time.  Each table can be better than the one before, but the earlier tables can be serviceable, functional, sturdy pieces of furniture, but without the style that a later table might have.

Take courses in your craft; get together with other writers and edit each others’ work; read what other writers have said.  My favourite book on writing is still Stephen King’s On Writing: a Memoir of the Craft.

We have to keep on practicing our craft.  Never give up.  If you want to be a writer, write.  Learn your craft.  Practice your craft.  But keep on writing.

2 responses »

  1. Well written, Amber. I concur. However, I think it is valuable to remember that if you so desire–especially if you are self-published–you can break down that table and rebuild it. They are, after all, your words.

Leave a Reply

