Love Letters, Again

Standard

Yesterday DB wrote:  “A suggestion…take a look at some love songs by men.”  I took his advice and listened to some loves songs written by men, and I think I noticed a trend.  The songs often spoke of  taking care of a woman, doing something for her; they expressed the desire to take some sort of action, even if it was just being there for her. Thinking like a man is challenging for a woman.  Women usually ask for only one thing, love, forever.  That appears to be too abstract a concept for men, who need something more concrete to hope and dream about.  Thanks, DB, for the suggestion.  I made some progress yesterday because I kept that in mind while trying to express the love won and lost in the letters of Paul to his beloved Rita.

Writing from the point of view of a child is much easier that writing from a man’s point of view, since, after all, I was once a child.  I can easily slip into the child’s mind and go where it takes me.  But in this fourth Magda Series book, Mayne Island Mayneacs, I have to try to bring to light an old love story that drives the plot of the mystery, and that’s a new challenge for me.

Wish me luck, faithful readers.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Amber,
    What I’ve been thinking, and I’m glad you’ve brought up this subject, is that a writer thinks they primarily write about what they’ve experienced in the past. In fact, a great writer researches and imagines what they could experience and writes about that! So you have picked a topic that men can criticize easily as they know if you are doing a good job or not. If you are honoring a man’s point of view or just expressing your exasperation at how men do things.
    I know this effort will require a lot of you. But the reward will be a fresh insight.
    Likewise, I have attempted to show my appreciation of a woman’s point of view in the female characters that I write about. It is a wonderous experience. I got more excited about that exact challenge than the main topic I was writing about. Finally, I got the balance back into the script. You will too.
    Dave

    • Hi David,
      Thanks for your response.
      I love men, and I love how wonderful they are about expressing their feelings for women in the things they do. I hope that this appreciation for the opposite sex comes through in my “love letters” from Paul to Rita. Thank you for reminding me that the way to understand a man is to listen to him and hear what he’s saying. Thus – listening to a love song written by a man shows how a man expresses his love. So simple!

Leave a Reply

