Oscar Wilde said that “Ambition is the last refuge of failure.”

Standard

     When my  plans changed this morning, I didn’t mind.  I live on Mayne Island, so I simply went out to look at the ocean and lie on the warm, smooth rocks, and watched a dozen or more seals gather to rest and warm themselves at the end of a long spit.  I turned to my companion and said, “I think we’re the least ambitious people I know.”

     I began to think about my choices and whether they reflected ambition, and about the pros and cons of ambition, and when I returned home I consulted Wikipedia, which tells us “ambition is the desire for personal achievement. It provides the motivation and determination necessary to achieve goals in life. Ambitious people seek to be the best at what they choose to do for attainment, power, or superiority. Ambition can also be defined as the object of this seekness.”

     Well, it looks like a positive trait, but as I say, I think my ambitions have been few, like writing books, being a good friend, and being a useful person, and in most cases these have been achievable.

     How about you?

Leave a Reply

