Dogs and Cats

Standard

They say you’re either a dog person or a cat person.  I believe I’m both

“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.” Josh Billings

My one and only family dog, that came to live with me in my early twenties and stayed until I was nearly forty, was a handsome, patient, affectionate German Shepherd.  I’ll call him Hans.  I knew very little about dogs, but read everything I could find about them, and I hope I gave him a good home.  He was my companion on many, many long walks, and never refused to be my steadfast walking partner.  He played with me on beaches, fetched sticks, scrambled up hills with me, and sometimes listened to my troubles.  I loved him till he died and miss him to this day.

“I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul.” Jean Cocteau

Cats and I get along very well. I’ve had five of them as housemates over the years.  The first one, I’ll call her Missy, was homeless, and came to me to have kittens in my bedroom.  She found life in an apartment confining, though, and she was adopted by a family that could let her run free.

Two brothers, let’s call them Mort and Siva, grew up with Hans, and all of us went for walks, the kittens and the puppy learning from each other, and each one becoming somewhat like the other species.  they licked each other and curled up together to sleep.

I know have two female cats sharing my life on Mayne Island, and I’ll call them Ginger and Fluff.  They are as different from each other as two cats can be.  Ginger is aloof and yet a homebody.  She doesn’t curl up in my lap, but she does like to curl up nearby, and looks up at me when I walk by.  She’s always happy to receive a caress and kind word, and someone to tell her what a beautiful kitty she is.  Fluff, on the other hand, likes to run to the trees and bushes and watch the wildlife around her.  She chases falling pine cones and swats imaginary bugs.  She loves to snuggle up when I’m in bed, and purrs and kneads the blankets like a small kitten.

I love them all.  I hope I’ll always have a pet friend to share my life and accept my ministrations. All I can do for them, I will.  And they will be happy and content.

Want to tell me about your animal friends?

 

Leave a Reply

