Just started NaNoWriMo

Standard

I started it.  It’s taking off in an unknown direction already.  Will she go to Europe with her friend?  What will she do? And hey, I even worked an owl into the first Page!

So, here’s a excerpt from the first chapter.

All that decided, I felt free.  A squirrel danced at the end of an oak tree branch.  I looked at it and grinned.  I’m just as free as you are, I told it, and turned a cartwheel on the freshly-mown grass. 

          An elderly couple riding in a caleche passed me and I could see that they were discussing my behaviour.  They probably thought I was high.  Well, I was, but it was a natural high.  I didn’t need drugs.  I was free.  I was twenty-two.  I had a passport, a bank account and birth control pills.  I could go where I wanted, do what I wanted, with whoever I wanted.

          Now I wanted to follow my decisions with actions, so I headed down the way I had come, along the tree-lined path, past the big houses on Mount Royal Avenue, along McGregor to the lower campus of McGill, to the Administration Office.  After filling out a form and talking with the registrar’s secretary, I wandered over to The Main and had a salad and a glass of beer, not my usual lunch.  Then with a determined step I returned to Place Ville Marie and rode the elevator up to the fiftieth floor, where I confronted my legal colleagues.

About treewithroots

Magda and Brent solve crimes and unravel mysteries on Mayne island. These exciting mystery/adventure stories for 9 - 13 year-olds, Magda's Mayne Island Mystery, Mayne Island Aliens and Mayne Island Skeletons, are available at various bookstores in the Gulf Islands. Amber enjoys reading to school classes. Teachers, please contact her if you'd like her to read to your class.

Leave a comment